Foreign Policy honors Google, C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group, and Hafsat Abiola at 5th Annual Diplomat of the Year


News Story from: 11/17/16

November 17, 2016 – Washington, D.C. 

The FP Group’s CEO and editor David Rothkopf announced today that FP’s annual “Diplomat of the Year” award will be presented to Google, recognizing the organization’s digital diplomacy through empowering citizens globally. Eric Schmidt, Executive Chairman of Alphabet, Inc., will be accepting the award on behalf of Google and participating in an armchair discussion at the Diplomat of the Year awards dinner tonight. The other honorees include C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group and Nigerian activist Hafsat Abiola.

C40 Cities will be presented with the Green Diplomat of the Year Award. Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris and Chair of C40 will accept the award on behalf of the organization for their contributions to environmental diplomacy. She and the C40 Cities have worked to tackle climate change over the past decade through a network of more than 80 major global cities, with the goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions and climate risks.

Receiving this year’s Citizen Diplomat of the Year Award will be Hafsat Abiola, founder of the Kudirat Initiative for Democracy (KIND). Abiola has been a champion of democracy in her native Nigeria and elsewhere as her organization, KIND, seeks to empower young women through leadership development and knocking down the barriers that many women face when it comes to public participation.

Rothkopf said of awarding FP’s 5th annual Diplomat of the Year awards, “These individuals and organizations represent the kind of optimism and progress that should be celebrated in today’s tumultuous society. Digital diplomacy and the work that Google is doing to empower citizens through technology and knowledge is, without a doubt, an increasingly vital part of our global makeup, and I am thrilled to be honoring these three individuals and organizations for their outstanding work in the field of diplomacy.”

Past recipients of FP’s annual Diplomat of the Year award include U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry (2015), U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker (2015), Vital Voices Global Partnership (2015), IMF Managing Director Christine Lagarde (2014), U.S. Deputy Secretary of State William J. Burns (2013) and Ambassador Chan Heng Chee, Singapore’s former ambassador to the U.S. (2012).

For further information, please contact Caitlin Thompson at, 202-457-7939.