Foreign Policy honors Chrystia Freeland, Zeid Raad al-Hussein at 7th Annual Diplomat of the Year


News Story from: 5/29/18

May 29, 2018 – Washington, D.C. 

CEO Ann McDaniel and Editor in Chief Jonathan Tepperman announced today that FP’s annual Diplomat of the Year Award will be presented to Chrystia Freeland, the Canadian minister of foreign affairs, in recognition of her international leadership and advocacy, currently highlighted by the challenging NAFTA renegotiations underway in Washington. Zeid Raad al-Hussein, the U.N. high commissioner for human rights, will also be honored.

“At a time when international relationships that have seemed immutable for 70 years are being called into question, Canada is more than ever committed to supporting the international rules-based order and democratic values. I greatly look forward to sharing the Canadian vision for foreign policy on June 13 and, more specifically, how we can and must use the multilateral system our parents and grandparents built as the foundation for tackling the new and challenging realities of this century,” Freeland says.

Hussein will be presented with the Career Diplomat of the Year Award for his unwavering and unapologetic dedication to advancing human rights worldwide. The commissioner, whose term ends in September, has broken with precedent by deciding not to seek reappointment, out of concern that doing so “in the current geopolitical context might involve bending a knee in supplication, muting a statement of advocacy, lessening the independence and integrity of my voice — which is your voice.”

Tepperman, FP’s editor in chief, says: “It’s very hard to think of leaders more deserving of these awards than Minister Freeland and High Commissioner Hussein. They are among the bravest, most principled, and most effective diplomats working today — tireless defenders of progressive causes and the global order. At a time of gathering darkness, they offer both light and hope and models the rest of us should emulate. We are all lucky to have them on our side, and FP is honored by the opportunity to honor them.”

The awards will be presented at a dinner on Wednesday, June 13, in Washington in front of an esteemed audience of public and private sector leaders, government officials, media influencers, and the diplomatic community.

Past recipients of FP’s annual Diplomat of the Year Award include U.N. Deputy Secretary-General Amina J. Mohammed (2017); Google, represented by Alphabet Executive Chairman Eric Schmidt (2016); U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry (2015); International Monetary Fund Managing Director Christine Lagarde (2014); U.S. Deputy Secretary of State William J. Burns (2013); and Ambassador Chan Heng Chee, Singapore’s former ambassador to the United States (2012).


For further information, please contact Caitlin Thompson at, 202-457-7939.