Foreign Policy Honors Christine Lagarde with the 2014 Diplomat of the Year Award


News Story from: 10/28/14

October 28, 2014 – Washington, D.C. –Foreign Policy’s CEO and Editor, David Rothkopf announced today that the recipient of the 2014 Foreign Policy “Diplomat of the Year” Award is International Monetary Fund Managing Director Christine Lagarde. The award is to be presented to Madame Lagarde at a dinner in Washington on Wednesday. Speakers will also include Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker, Export-Import Bank President Fred Hochberg, and David Rothkopf. More than 175 invited guests are expected to attend.

This is the third year Foreign Policy has presented the Diplomat of the Year Award, honoring an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to worldwide diplomacy.

Madame Lagarde is the first woman to be Managing Director of the IMF. She took the position in 2011 and has led the organization through a critical time for global economics. For the past three years, she re-established the IMF’s central role in promoting economic diplomacy and international cooperation. Prior to her appointment, Madame Lagarde was Chairman of the Chicago-based international Law firm Baker & McKenzie and held various ministerial positions in her native France, including Foreign Trade, Agriculture, Finance and the Economy. In 2010, she was Chairman of the G-20.

Commerce Secretary Pritzker, who will make this year’s opening remarks, took office in June 2013, becoming the country’s chief commercial advocate. She launched and re-established numerous programs, including NEI/NEXT, which supports and expands President Obama’s export-promotion program. Secretary Pritzker has also strengthened and fortified many foreign relationships, while advocating and promoting America’s economic growth.

Fred Hochberg was appointed head of the Export-Import Bank in 2009 by President Obama. Previously he served as acting administrator of the Small Business Administration.

Past recipients of FP’s annual Diplomat of the Year award include U.S. Deputy Secretary of State William J. Burns and Singapore’s Chan Heng Chee, dean of Asia’s ambassadors to the United States. Madame Lagarde will be honored with this award on Wednesday, October 29, 2014 at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel during FP’s annual Diplomat of the Year dinner.

For further information, contact Maria Ory at or 202-728-7318.